Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University



Oita Prefecture Tertiary Education Providers Launch the "Toyono-Manabi Consortium"


Mar 22, 2011

On Thursday, March 10, 2011, a press conference was held at the Oita Prefectural Office to announce the launch of the "Toyono-Manabi Consortium". This consortium brings together Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University (APU) and six other national, public and private universities and vocational colleges in Oita Prefecture, and will involve joint-education lectures based on a credit exchange system.

Representatives of the seven participating universities and colleges attended the press conference and spoke about of the significance and future prospects of this collaboration. APU President KORENAGA Shun said "The initiatives of tertiary education providers in Oita Prefecture continue to play an important and trailblazing role on the national stage. Made possible through our past achievements, this initiative has the makings of a practical lifelong learning university".

Through this consortium, faculty members from the seven participating schools will provide joint lectures on an on-demand basis for students at any of the member schools. In addition, a range of lifelong learning lectures for the wider community from children to the elderly will be provided to further improve local education and culture.

APU plans to hold a range of lectures focusing on language, culture and regional development that make use of the University's multicultural and multilingual environment.

APU places a great importance on its mission to contribute to the internationalisation and development of the local region. With this goal in mind, the University is engaged in a range of public lectures both on and off campus and regional exchange events. As a member of this consortium, APU aims to make an even greater contribution to the local community and region.

Consortium Member Universities and Colleges
*Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
*Oita University
*Oita National College of Technology
*Oita Prefectural College of Arts and Culture
*Beppu University
*Beppu University Junior College
*Nippon Bunri University

  • LINEで送る