Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University



Nine Oita Prefecture tertiary education providers establish the “Oita Higher Education Council”


May 27, 2011

On Tuesday, May 24, 2011, a press conference was held at the Oita Prefectural Office to mark the launch of the “Oita Higher Education Council”. Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University (APU) and eight other universities and colleges have joined forces for this initiative to promote regional education, research and cultural pursuits. Working in cooperation with local municipalities, the project aims to contribute to regional development and the nurturing of outstanding young minds.

APU and other local higher education providers have launched a number of collaborative projects including the “Regional Collaboration Research Consortium Oita” to promote greater cooperation between local specialists involved in finding solutions to regional issues (launched Feb 2008) and the “Toyono-Manabi Consortium” to promote lifelong learning opportunities and classes open to all participating university/college students (launched March 2011). Through these initiatives, the participating institutions have been working to promote higher education in Oita Prefecture and contribute to regional development. The “Oita Higher Education Council” has been set up to oversee the projects outlined above and contribute to regional development and the further strengthening of institutional ties.

APU President and Deputy-Chairman of the newly formed “Oita Higher Education Council” offered his comment: “The recent Great Eastern Japan Earthquake has made us realize the need for universities and local authorities to work together to improve our disaster preparedness. The launching of this council provides the framework to further strengthen collaboration between local municipalities and higher education providers”.

APU places a great importance on its mission to contribute to the internationalisation and development of the local region. With this goal in mind, the University is engaged in a range of public lectures both on and off campus and regional exchange events. As a member of this Council, APU aims to make an even greater contribution to the local community and region.

Members of the “Oita Higher Education Council”:
Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
Oita University
Oita National College of Technology
Oita Prefectural College of Arts and Culture
Beppu University
Beppu University Junior College
Beppu Mizobe Gakuen College
Nippon Bunri University
The Open University of Japan, Oita Study Centre

  • LINEで送る